Technical Support Forum Index
Technical Support Forum
Access ChemAxon scientists and developers here. For registration and login issues contact website support.
JChem for Excel 5.4.0 functions in Excel2010 not active
To watch this topic for replies  Register (enables digests) or give email address:
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Display posts from previous:   
    View previous topic :: View next topic    
Author Message
lars.gj.hammarstrom@ki.se

Joined: 09 Sep 2009
Posts: 3

View user's profile
Visit poster's website

Back to top
Link to postPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 2:11 pmPost subject: JChem for Excel 5.4.0 functions in Excel2010 not active Reply with quote

Hi!

I have recently installed JChem for Excel 5.4.0 on top of Office 2010 and I can't get the JChem functions active in Excel.  The "JChem Excel Fuctions" option is unmarked in the "Manage COM Add-Ons" menu and no matter how many times I activate it, it will not stay clicked in.

Any tips?

Sincerely,

Lars
Karolinska Institutet

 

 

hamoriviktor
ChemAxon personnel
Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 754

View user's profile

Back to top
Link to postPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 2:28 pmPost subject: Reply with quote

Hi Lars,

is not imaginable that a failure occurs in that module and Excel excplicitly wants to ignore it?

Please send some screenshots about the COM and Excel addin settings in option.
And in addition to this, could you please check the

C:\Users\<Your user>\AppData\Roaming\ChemAxon\JChem for Excel\ and attach to the forum please for me to be able to have look at it too.

Viktor



Last edited by hamoriviktor on Mon Jan 03, 2011 2:30 pm; edited 1 time in total
hamoriviktor
ChemAxon personnel
Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 754

View user's profile

Back to top
Link to postPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 2:30 pmPost subject: Reply with quote

Hi Lars,

please have a look at this:

https://www.chemaxon.com/forum/ftopic4828.html

in the COM addin options the function automation interface needs to be unchecked.

Viktor

 

dkonya

Joined: 16 Oct 2008
Posts: 12

View user's profile

Back to top
Link to postPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 4:35 pmPost subject: Installation issue? Reply with quote

Hi Viktor,

Probably my finding is special, but I experienced something similar. After installing JChem for Excell I had the JChem tag at the top, and it was active when opening. But any button I pressed, after popping up the Jchem for Excel window for a second, the whole JChem table became inactive (grey).

I went through the whole process which you linked above, but no help. I decided to reinstall the program. I started the uninstall from the control panel, and to my greatest surprise it asked me to close Instant JChem in order to do it. When I installed JChem for Excel IJC was open (well, it's always open anyhow), but there was no error message. It went up smoothly but it didn't work. After closing IJC uninstall was successful. I reinstalled then using the same installer file, without opening IJC, and apparently it works fine (keep our fingers crossed).

Have a nice weekend,

Denes

hamoriviktor
ChemAxon personnel
Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 754

View user's profile

Back to top
Link to postPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 5:04 pmPost subject: Reply with quote

Hi Dénes,

the main difference between Lars and your issue is that JChemExcel contains 2 different addins,

1 is responsible for JChemExcel functionalities GUI, whatever.
2 is responsible JChemExcel functions, calculations, and special functions for drawing.

Lars could not get 2. working, your problem is mainly related to the 1. one.

And you do NOT have loading issue (which Lars had) because JCHem menu is there,

if the addin or addins are not loaded, then JChem menu cannot be seen at all.

And Excel/Options/Addin drops the addin to inactive or problematical addins. If your JChem menu is greyed out, it means that addin was loaded but erro migth occured loading the further part of the applciation e.g. .NET, or other component. If you check the log files in

C:\Users\<Your user>AppData\Roaming\ChemAxon\ and find reported errors logs in the CXN Loader folder or in the JChemExcel zou might see that what

was the problem before you repired the application.

There are common components shared between these applciations please be careful that 5.4 JChemExcel possibly cooperate with 5.4 IJC and 5,4 Marvin.
At least make sure that 5.4 not to be overinstaleld with 5.3.8 and so on.

 

Viktor

 

 

 

debnath

Joined: 27 May 2009
Posts: 6

View user's profile

Back to top
Link to postPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 9:27 pmPost subject: JChem for Excel 5.4 is not active in MS Excel 2003 Reply with quote

I have  installed JChem for Excel 5.4 and followed the instruction for installation of Add-Ins.  But no matter what I do JChem is not showing up in MS excel 2003. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks,

Asim Debnath

debnath

Joined: 27 May 2009
Posts: 6

View user's profile

Back to top
Link to postPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 9:50 pmPost subject: JChem for Excel 5.4 is not active in MS Excel 2003 Reply with quote

I have  installed JChem for Excel 5.4 and followed the instruction for installation of Add-Ins.  But no matter what I do JChem is not showing up in MS excel 2003. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks,

Asim Debnath

tpelcz
ChemAxon personnel
Joined: 02 Aug 2007
Posts: 239

View user's profile

Back to top
Link to postPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 9:22 amPost subject: Reply with quote

Dear Asim,

sorry for the late reply. In general there is no manual configuration required after you install JChem for Excel, but it seems something went wrong in your case.

If you can, please send us a screenshot of your Add-Ins dialog. Could you also check whether the Jchem for excel Add-in is listed under disabled add-ins?

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms268871(VS.80).aspx

If you are familiar with Registry Editor, you could also check the existence of the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Office\Excel\Addins\JChemExcel.JChemExcelAddin

Best regards,

Tamas.

 

 

debnath

Joined: 27 May 2009
Posts: 6

View user's profile

Back to top
Link to postPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 4:23 pmPost subject: JChem for Excel 5.4 is not active in MS Excel 2003 Reply with quote

Hi Tamas:

Thanks for your suggestions. It was, in fact, in the disabled add-ins list. After I enabled JChem for Excel started working fine. Appreciate your help.


Asim 

This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Page 1 of 1


To watch this topic for replies   Register (enables digests) or give email address  
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum